drugs, new beginning, relationship

A Jewish Mother’s Worst Nightmare Becomes a Reality

The first time I decided to open up to my mother, I told her about my first experience with weed. I personally thought it was a great way to let her know more about me. Little did I know, this would lead to her thinking I was addicted to weed, which eventually followed with her trying to convince me I needed to go to rehab. But what more could be expected from a Jewish mother?

Growing up in a fairly traditional Jewish household, we never really talked about sex, relationships, or drugs. At some point in your life you were just kind of expected to realize that if you were a girl and had a “special” hole (this being your vagina oppose to a nostril) that something was meant to go in there. Not saying that you were supposed to stick everything that you could find up your vagina, but that it shouldn’t stay…umm…lonely. Before I find myself head deep in a conversation about vaginas, I will go on to say that opening up to my mother in the way that I decided to was pretty fucking idiotic.

All I ever wanted growing up was to be best friends with my mother but it never really worked out. Firstly, my discovery in my love for social work immediately crashed my mother’s hopes and dreams of her daughter becoming a doctor, a lawyer, or an accountant. Secondly, our personalities never really coincided. She was always worried and anxious about irrelevant things, while I stayed calm and had patience…after telling her about the weed she’s now convinced that me being relaxed all my life can be explained by the fact that I have been high this whole time.

I went on to explain to my mother that I only tried it once and had no interest in doing it again, but the only thing that registered in her head was that I was a drug addict, was going to die of my addiction, drop out of school, would not have any grandchildren for her, and would not switch my mind in the last minute and decide to become a doctor. I mean I did have a logical and hopeful reason for opening up to her; I thought that maybe she would tell me about her rebellious times as a teenager which would give us some pretty fucked up grounds to bond over.

It’s not like I have a terrible relationship with my mother or anything, I just wanted the Hollywood relationship; the one where the girl can confide in her mother regarding anything and tell her about her “first time”. But I guess that Hollywood relationships don’t exist in real life. Behind every mother-daughter relationship, is a mother worrying her daughter is going to die of a drug addiction.

Standard

Leave a comment